Republicans swept Fayette County in Tuesday’s General Election contests, generally by a two-to-one margin.

Tax Commissioner-elect Kristie King scored the biggest win among the four Fayette County contested races with 67.4 percent of the vote over Democrat challenger Rasheed Dawodu. Former County Commissioner Eric Maxwell defeated Democrat Pam Reid with 66 percent of the vote to earn a return trip to the board in the District 1 seat.

Incumbent School Board Member Barry Marchman held off Democrat Melissa Lohr with 62.7 percent of the vote to keep his District 1 seat. Brian Anderson won the District 5 school board seat with 63.5 percent of the vote over Democrat Ching Ching Yap.

At press time, vote totals for regional and state-wide races were not yet finalized, but in every race the Republican candidate had won Fayette.

See and Saturday’s print editions of Fayette County News and Today in Peachtree City for complete results and analysis of the General Election.

Other political winners were named earlier in the year as they won Primary Election nominations and faced no other-party competition on the General Election ballot. Those candidates include 13th District U.S. Congressman David Scott, 16th District State Senator Marty Harbin, 34th District State Senator Valencia Seay, 63rd District State Representative Debra Bazemore, 64th District State Representative Derrick Jackson, 72nd District State Representative Josh Bonner, District Attorney Ben Coker, Probate Judge Ann Jackson, Superior Court Clerk Sheila Studdard, Sheriff Barry Babb, Coroner Bee Huddleston, State Court Solicitor Jamie Inagawa, District 2 County Commissioner Randy Ognio, District 5 County Commissioner Chuck Oddo, and District 3 School Board Member Scott Hollowell.