Five District 5 Fayete County Commission candidates have qualified to run in this year’s Republican primary, and as no Democrat challenger signed up by the noon Friday deadline, the Republican primary (or runoff) winner will likely be seated come January.
That District 5 list includes incumbent Commissioner Charles Oddo, who is currently serving as commission chairman, along with former Fayetteville Mayor Greg Clifton, Former Peachtree City Mayor Don Haddix, Former County Commissioner Alan McCarty, and outspoken county government ex-employee and critic Emory McHugh. District 5 is the only county-wide commission post.
Republicans competing for County Commission Post 2 include incumbent Commissioner Randy Ognio along with Maggie Laton and former Commissioner Lee Hearn, who Ognio unseated in 2012. There is no Democratic challenger.
Incumbent Post 1 County Commissioner David Barlow will face opposition from fellow Republican and former Commissioner Eric Maxwell in the primary, and the winner will face Democratic challenger Pamela Reid.
Fayette County Sheriff Barry Babb will face opposition from fellow Republican Chris Stevers, a former deputy who is now a detective with Fayetteville Police Department. There is no Democratic sheriff candidate.
Incumbent Republican Barry Marchman will face Democrat Melissa Lohr this fall for the Fayette County Board of Education District 1 seat. Republican Scott Hollowell, who ran against Marchman four years ago, will run this year against Republican Incumbent Marion Key, and the primary winner will face Democrat Angela Stowman.
Three Republicans, Susan Stopford, Sharon Girolami and Brian Anderson will compete in the primary for the open, at-large Board of Education Post 5 seat, and the winner will face Democrat Ching Ching Yap this fall.
Chief Deputy Tax Commissioner Kristi King, a Republican, will face Democrat Rasheed M. Dawodu this fall to replace retiring Tax Commissioner George Wingo.
Republican Incumbent Jamie K. Inagawa was the only qualifier from either party for State Court Solicitor General.
Walter Bee Huddleston and Robbie G. Waits will compete for county coroner, a seat being vacated by long-time Coroner C. J. Mowell.
Incumbent Republican Probate Court Judge Ann Jackson will run unopposed for reelection.
Incumbent Sheila Studdard was the only qualifier for the Clerk of Superior Court seat.
On the non-partisan side of the ballots, magistrate judges Kathy Brown Valencia, Robert Ruppenthal and James White will face no opposition for districts 2, 3 and 4, respectively. However, incumbent District 1 Magistrate Judge Loyd Hall Black faces opposition from challenger Christy Dunkelberger.
See Wednesday’s edition of this newspaper for full qualifying results from state and national races.