Fayette County News

Fayette County


Qualifying week starts slow in Fayette

county-web-mapMunicipal qualifying week in Fayette got off to a slow start, as only three candidates signed up to run as of late Monday afternoon, though there are a total of 13 seats up for grabs this November across the county.

Tyrone Town Hall reported that only incumbent Councilwoman Linda Howard officially qualified to run for reelection on Monday, though incumbent Mayor Eric Dial and incumbent Town Councilman Ryan Housley are expected to fill out their paperwork sometime this week.

Peachtree City City Hall reported that Post 2 incumbent City Councilman Mike King has qualified to seek reelection, and newcomer Phil Prebor has signed up to run for Post 1. Post 1 incumbent Eric Imker has indicated he will not seek reelection this year. City Hall officials say they have recently received Notice of Intent to Accept Campaign Contributions forms from Shayne Robinson and Kim Westwood, but neither had officially signed up to run as of 4:30 Monday afternoon.

Fayette County Board of Elections is handling qualifying procedures for the towns of Brooks and Woolsey in southern Fayette County, but staffers say they had no signers at all as of 4:35 p.m. Monday.

Brooks Town Council posts 3, 4 and 5 held by councilmen Ted Britt, Jake Kunz and Todd Speer are up for election this fall.

Town of Woolsey Council posts 1 and 2, currently held by Kenny Wright and Frank Carden, are up for election in November.

City of Fayetteville qualifying begins Tuesday morning at 8:30 and runs through Thursday at 4:30. Incumbent Mayor Greg Clifton is expected to seek reelection to his seat, as are incumbent city councilmen Edward Johnson and Mickey Edwards.

Qualifying has already taken place for the Sept. 15 special election in Fayette County Commission District 5 to replace late Commissioner Pota Coston, who died this summer of breast cancer. Three candidates qualified in that non-partisan race: Angela Bean, Charles Rousseau and Peyton Riley.