Fayette County


Ognio elected as Chairman of Board of Commissioners

Randy Ognio will serve as Chairman of the County Board of Commissioners for 2019.

There will be a new man leading the meetings for the County Board of Commissioners in 2019 after Randy Ognio was elected as Chairman Thursday night. Ognio replaces Eric Maxwell as Chair, and Charles Oddo was elected to replace Ognio as Vice-Chair.

As is annual procedure, the first meeting of a new year commences with a vote on Chairman to lead the Board of Commissioners. Both Ognio and Maxwell were nominated, and the vote on Ognio came first. There were four affirmative votes, at which point Maxwell said, “I’m not going to be opposed,” making it a unanimous vote.

“I just want to say thank you to the Board for having faith in me for this position,” said Ognio. “I’m beyond words right now at the honor that’s been bestowed upon me.”

Oddo was the only nominee for Vice-Chair.

The night also represented the first meeting as Commissioner for Edward “Edge” Gibbons, who takes over the seat previously held by Steve Brown. He shied away from the microphone in end-of-meeting comments.

“I’m the new guy,” he joked. “I have very little to say.”

Charles Rousseau was also sworn in for another term, and he promised his dedication to the job has not wavered.

“I do not take lightly the trust that you’ve put in me,” he said. “I will continue to work hard to be an advocate, a voice, and your servant leader on this Board and be responsible for the actions that I take.”

Rousseau summed up his plans for his new term.

“Let’s get to work.”

By Christopher Dunn

Managing Editor Christopher Dunn has been with the Fayette County News since 2011, in addition to running Fayette Victory magazine. He is a graduate of Fayette County schools, as well as a graduate of Georgia State University with a degree in journalism. Follow him on twitter @fayettesports.