Fayette County News

Fayette County


Introducing the area’s top lacrosse stars for 2016

Alyssa Sack of Starr’s Mill is the All-County Girls Lacrosse Player of the Year for the second straight year. (Staff Photo by Christopher Dunn)

It’s time to hand out honors to the best lacrosse players in the area.
The Fayette County Lacrosse Club, a premier source of local teams, has again selected the 2016 All South Metro Boys Lacrosse Team. The team is comprised of boys from the Fayette and Coweta County high school squads. Additionally there is a All-County Lacrosse Team made up of just the girls from Fayette County, McIntosh, Starr’s Mill, and Whitewater.
All South Metro Boys Player of the Year honors go to Clayton Francisco of Northgate.
Alyssa Sack of Starr’s Mill repeats as All-County Girls Player of the Year. Sack, a senior who has signed with Lenoir-Rhyne University, racked up 63 goals and 46 assists, leading her team in goals and assists for the second straight year and earning All-State Second Team honors along the way. Sack also finishes as Starr’s Mill’s career leader in goals, assists, and points.
“Alyssa has been a great leader for our program, both on and off the field,” says her coach, Taylor Sweeney.
Jeff Schmidlkofer of Starr’s Mill is the All-South Metro Boys Lacrosse Coach of the Year. Schmidlkofer led the Panthers to a stellar 17-1 regular season record and a berth in the state playoffs.
His counterpart at Starr’s Mill, Taylor Sweeney, is the All-County Girls Coach of the Year. Sweeney’s Lady Panthers strung together a tremendous season finishing with a berth in the Final Four.
The boys first team is made up attackers Brady Jenks (Starr’s Mill), Zach Anderson (McIntosh), and Chris Cassidy (Whitewater), midfielders Francisco, Evan Torris (Starr’s Mill), and Garrett LeClaire (McIntosh), defenders Nate Cockes (Starr’s Mill), Xavier Fleetwood (Woodward), and Logan Bradford (McIntosh), and goalie Drew Van de Motter (Starr’s Mill).
The second team consists of attackers Ethan Sack (Starr’s Mill), Patrick Wallace (Northgate), and Matt Marhefka (McIntosh), midfielders Zach Jones (McIntosh), Ryan Cockes (Starr’s Mill), and Garett Klone (Northgate), defenders Quinn Knapper (Whitewater), Karson Miller (Northgate), and Billy Ross (East Coweta), and goalie Steve Dan (Whitewater).
The All-County Girls Team is made up of Starr’s Mill’s Sack, Caroline Broderick, Ashley Wallace, Caroline Andrews, and Leanne Windon, Whitewater’s Jessie Landers, Sharity Bayerlein, Brianna Shepler, and Taylor Todd, McIntosh’s Delaney Baro, Jordan Crutchfield, Imani Hedgeman, Jalen Knight, and Julie Lim, and Fayette County’s Trinity Brown and Alyssa Klinger.
Broderick, a middie, tallied 34 goals and 13 assists. Wallace, an attacker, scored 39 goals with 13 assists. Andrews, an attacker, notched 22 goals and 18 assists. Windon, a defender, posted 31 forced turnovers, 27 ground balls, and 13 takeaways.
Landers, a goalie, racked up 84 saves with a .435 save percentage. Bayerlein, a defender and middie, notched 19 goals, 3 assists, 34 ground balls, and five takeaways. Shepler, an attacker and middie, notched 15 goals, five assists, and 23 ground balls. Todd, an attacker and middie, tallied 34 goals, seven assists, 26 ground balls, and seven takeaways.
Baro, a sophomore middie, racked up 39 goals, nine assists, 15 draw controls, 10 ground balls, and 15 takeaways. Crutchfield, a senior team captain and middie, piled up 24 goals, 8 assists, 26 draw controls, 10 ground balls, and 12 takeaways. Hedgeman, a senior attacker, notched 31 goals, eight assists, 24 draw controls, 10 ground balls, and 12 takeaways. Knight a junior attacker, scored 50 goals with 16 assists, 26 draw controls, 10 ground balls, and 12 takeaways. Lim, a senior defender, had 16 takeaways and 12 ground balls.
Brown, a sophomore, played attack and middie, tallying 18 goals. Klinger, a sophomore middie, notched nine goals.

For more information on the Fayette County Lacrosse Club, visit www.fayettelacrosse.com.

By Christopher Dunn

Managing Editor Christopher Dunn has been with the Fayette County News since 2011, in addition to running Fayette Victory magazine. He is a graduate of Fayette County schools, as well as a graduate of Georgia State University with a degree in journalism. Follow him on twitter @fayettesports.