Sam Herman and Alyssa Sack bring home top honors. (Staff Photos by Christopher Dunn)

Another year of high school sports is completed, but it’s not time to say goodbye just yet. It’s time to hand out honors to the best lacrosse players in the area.
The Fayette County Lacrosse Club, a premier source of local teams, has selected the 2015 All South Metro Boys Lacrosse Team. The team is comprised of boys from the Fayette and Coweta County high school squads. Additionally there is a All-County Lacrosse Team made up of just the girls from McIntosh, Starr’s Mill, and Whitewater.
Among the area boys teams, McIntosh and Starr’s Mill both made the state playoffs, each advancing to the second round. On the girls side, McIntosh and Starr’s Mill made the postseason, the Lady Chiefs reaching round two.
All South Metro Boys Player of the Year honors go to Sam Herman of McIntosh. Herman, a senior and returning member of the All South Metro First Team, led the Chiefs in scoring with 40 goals and 20 assists.
Alyssa Sack of Starr’s Mill is the All-County Girls Player of the Year. Sack, a junior for the Panthers, also earned All-Area Player of the Year honors for her 50 goal, 27 assist season.
Andrew Pons of Woodward Academy was selected as the All-South Metro Boys Lacrosse Coach of the Year.
The boys first team is made up of attackers Patrick Anderson (McIntosh), Keller Pilch (Woodward), and Garrett Kilgore (Whitewater), midfielders Herman, Clayton Francisco (Northgate), and Spencer Hall (Starr’s Mill), defenders Hank Morgan (McIntosh), Drew Saville (Starr’s Mill), and Mike McMahon (Newnan), and goalie Will Romero (Woodward).
The second team consists of attackers Jack Garrison (Whitewater), Chris Falcone (Starr’s Mill), and Carter Byrum (East Coweta), midfielders Garrett Klone (Northgate), Sterling Tyson (East Coweta), and Garrett LeClaire (McIntosh), defenders Andrew Gray (Woodward), Joel Martin (Whitewater), and Logan Bradford (McIntosh), and goalie Jordan Surratt (Newnan).
Honorable mentions are Zach Anderson, Caleb Sellers, and Chris Costello from McIntosh, Quinten Vanhoozer and Steve Dann from Whitewater, Drew Van de Motter from Starr’s Mill, Austin Ohliger from Newnan, and Ben Wilkinson from Woodward.
The All-County Girls Team is made up of McIntosh’s Kyle Bednarick, Imani Hedgeman, Jalen Knight, Caitlin Ford, Jordan Crutchfield, and Julie Lim, Starr’s Mill’s Sack, Oliva Krug, Mary Ellis Goins, Caroline Broderick, and Katie Shockley, and Whitewater’s Mattie Keaton, Megan Maloney, Emily Waldroup, Julie Trube, and Taylor Todd.
Bednarick was her team’s MVP and an All-State second team player, tallying 31 goals and 11 assists. Hedgeman, a junior, posted 29 goals and two assists while earning All-State First Team honors. Knight, a sophomore, notched 39 goals and 11 assists. Ford posted 30 goals and three assists. Crutchfield posted 60 saves over 11 games as the team’s goalie. Lim led McIntosh on the backend as a top defender.
Krug was the defensive leader for a stingy Panther team, along with freshman Shockley. Goins tallied 21 goals and nine assists. Broderick posted 23 goals and eight assists.
Keaton notched 210 saves as Whitewater’s goalie. Maloney scored 20 goals with 45 assists. Trube paced the team from the midfield, leading the Wildcats in scoring with 47 goals. Waldroup and Todd anchored the Wildcat defense.