Fayette County


Introducing the 2022 All-County Girls Basketball Team

Basketball season is in the books, and it’s time to honor the best of the best in girls hoops. While just two county teams made the playoffs this season, there was a lot to be proud of, including the emergence of a lot of fresh new talent to ensure Fayette’s future is bright.

Keara Collins of McIntosh is the County Player of the Year. Collins, a senior guard, filled out the stat sheet nightly, averaging 11.6 points, 9.1 rebounds, and 3.8 assists in leading her Chiefs to a region runner-up finish.


“Keara has the ability to take over a basketball game on both ends of the floor. Depending on the situation, she was able to score, defend, or be the distributor,” said McIntosh head coach Rick Fontaine. “Keara is a selfless player and was our coach on the floor. She is a tremendous competitor that raised the level of our team’s play every game.”

Megan Ohonde of Fayette County is the Freshman of the Year. The Tigers’ first-year phenom posted 13 points, 7 rebounds, and 3 steals a night, pushing her squad to second place in their region.


Tykira Gilbert of Fayette County is the Coach of the Year. Coming off a winless campaign last year, Gilbert shaped a young roster featuring five freshmen as they improved to 16 wins with a 10-2 region record and a region runner-up finish.

The All-County First Team is Fayette County’s Andrea Hope, McIntosh’s Bella Duiser, Sandy Creek’s Janae Walker, Starr’s Mill’s Jaclyn Hester, and Whitewater’s Kechi Okonkwo.

Hope, a freshman, posted 10 points, 3 rebounds, and 3 steals a game. Duiser, a senior guard, scored 10 points a night while shooting 38 percent on 3-pointers. Walker, a junior, averaged a double-double of 15 points and 12 rebounds. Hester, a senior, racked up 17 points and 9 rebounds a game for the Panthers. Okonkwo, a senior, posted 10.78 points and 7.7 rebounds a game.

The All-County Second Team is McIntosh’s Olivia Henders and Kendall Davis, Whitewater’s Kasi Okonkwo and Charity Cloud, and Sandy Creek’s Caitlyn Anderson.

Henders, a senior, posted 6.7 points and 5.2 rebounds nightly. Davis, a sophomore, averaged 11.3 points and 7 rebounds. Okonkwo, a junior, tallied 8.34 points and 5.5 assists. Cloud, a senior guard, averaged 8.69 points and 5 assists. Anderson, a junior, posted 8 points and 11 rebounds a game for the Patriots.

The talent remaining earns Honorable Mention recognition. Fayette County’s honoree is Emily Nwuha. McIntosh’s honorees are Zara Vaughan and Becca Lobl. Starr’s Mill’s honoree is Brooke Godown. Whitewater’s honorees are Leah Smith and Ellia Chance.

By Michael Cuneo

Michael Cuneo is a news and sports reporter for the Fayette County News. Michael graduated from Georgia State University with a degree in Journalism in 2020. In his off time, Michael enjoys torturing himself as an Atlanta Falcons fan. Follow Michael on twitter @michaelcune