Ethan Sack of Starr’s Mill is Player of the Year. (Staff Photo by Christopher Dunn)

Lacrosse continued its ascent up the rungs of popularity in Fayette County this season.  Many schools saw career-defining seasons and it led to McIntosh and Starr’s Mill making the GHSA Boys Lacrosse State Playoffs.

Both teams made it to the Elite Eight and held their own against tough competition. Starr’s Mill finished undefeated in the Area 4 standings and won the region. The Panthers also scored an impressive 359 goals in 22 games.

McIntosh won 14 games and finished second in the region. They ended the season on a hot streak winning seven of their last eight games.
Whitewater and Fayette County experienced a difficult seasons, but rebounded with nice wins to close out the campaign. Our Lady of Mercy made strides and now has a positive outlook heading into their second year of varsity play.

As we look back on a strong boys’ lacrosse season, it’s time to hand out some All-County honors.

Starr’s Mill midfielder Ethan Sack is the All-County Player of the Year. Sack was dominant all season and led the Panthers offensive attack. He scored 62 goals and collected 10 assists. Sack also added 34 ground balls and is a two-time All-State selection as well.

Starr’s Mill head coach Jeff Schmidlkofer is our All-County Coach of the Year. He guided the Panthers to an 18-4 record and back-to-back Elite Eight appearances. This season, Starr’s Mill was dominant in region play as they allowed just 30 goals in 10 games. As this season attests, Schmidlkofer is one of the best lacrosse coaches in the state.

The boys’ first team is made up of attackers Brooks Baro (McIntosh), Jack Byrum, (Whitewater), and Avery Jenks (Starr’s Mill). The midfielders include Zachary Rustick (Whitewater), Ryan Cockes (Starr’s Mill), Grant Shuler (Fayette County), and Garrett LeClaire (McIntosh). The defenders are William Binkley (Starr’s Mill), Micah Franco (Fayette County), Colton Hayes (McIntosh), and the goalie is Isaac Bohrer (Whitewater).

Three players also made the team for their face-off ability. Those players include Garrett Meunick (Starr’s Mill), Logan Sandal (McIntosh), and Terrence Jenkins (Fayette County) for his work as an outstanding defensive long pole.

Baro headlines the list due to his scoring acumen. He connected on 67 goals and had a total of 124 points this season. Jenks also had a great season with 73 goals and 51 assists. He also was awarded as the 2018 All-South Metro Lacrosse Player of the Year. In goal, Bohrer did excellent work with 207 saves and an impressive 81 percent save rate.

The boys’ second team is made up of attackers Jabari Holifield (McIntosh), Gabe Lopez (Starr’s Mill), and Michael Buck (Whitewater). The midfielders are Carter Boicourt (McIntosh), Adrian Gonzalez (Whitewater), and Reid Harrison (Starr’s Mill). The second-team defenders include Greg Habicht (McIntosh), Awbrey Mitchel (Starr’s Mill), and goalie Grant Montgomery (McIntosh).

Starr’s Mill’s Jacob Zellen and McIntosh’s Keagan Galbraith made the second team for their efforts in the face-off and as a long-stick defender.
The second-team stats are impressive. Lopez had 40 goals, 17 assists, and 23 ground balls as a freshman. Harrison was also brilliant and drew top defensive midfielder honors from his coaching staff.

The boys’ honorable mentions include Starr’s Mill players Luke Rusterucci and Derek Saylor. Fayette’s Robert Hedgeman, Terrence Jenkins, and Our Lady of Mercy’s Colin Schmitz and Nathan Haydel made squad this season.

Fayette’s Jarred Johnson also made the honorable mention team. He improved a lot in his third year and was a key fixture on the Tigers’ squad. He had 180 saves and his save percentage improved to 56.3 percent.

Many of these players will be back to build off their strong campaigns next season.


To see more photos from this season, click [btn type=”default or primary or success or info or warning or danger or link” link=”″]here[/btn].