Qualifying begins Tuesday morning and runs through Thursday afternoon for people interested in serving as Fayetteville mayor or council member of posts 2 and 3.
Incumbent Mayor Greg Clifton and councilmen Edward Johnson and Mickey Edwards have all said they intend to seek reelection to their current seats. There have been no public announcements of anyone else’s intention to challenge these incumbents.
Clifton, Johnson, and Edwards were all elected for the first time in 2011 and took office in January 2012. Clifton defeated former Mayor Ken Steele, Johnson defeated the late former Councilman Wilson Price, and Edwards beat Cathy Cochran to fill the seat vacated by former Councilman Al Hovey-King.
Altogether, two mayoral seats, 11 town and city council seats, and one county commission seat are up for election within the next couple of months.
Qualifying for Peachtree City’s Post 1 and Post 2 city council seats, currently held by Eric Imker and Mike King, begins Monday morning and runs through Friday afternoon at Peachtree City City Hall.
Two town council seats and the mayor’s seat are up for election in Tyrone, where qualifying will also run during office hours Monday through Friday at Town Hall. Currently, Eric Dial is the town’s mayor, and the two council members up for reelection are Linda Howard and Ryan Housley.
Down in the Town of Brooks, councilmen Ted Britt, Jake Kunz, and Todd Speer are up for reelection for the post 3, 4, and 5 seats. Brooks’ qualifying will take place at the Fayette County Board of Elections office in Fayetteville during office hours Monday through Friday.
Town of Woolsey councilmen Kenny Wright and Frank Carden are also up for reelection this year, and qualifying for their Post 1 and Post 2 seats will also take place this coming week, Monday through Friday, at the Fayette County Board of Elections office in Fayetteville.
A special election to fill the county commission seat vacated by the late Pota Coston will take place Sept. 15, but it will only be open to voters in Fayette County’s Fifth District, which is located in northern Fayette County. Three candidates have qualified to run to replace Coston: Angela Bean, Charles Rousseau, and Peyton Riley.
If there is a run-off in the commission seat special election, it will take place on Tuesday, Oct. 13.
All of the municipal elections take place on Tuesday, Nov. 3, and any necessary run-off would take place on Tuesday, Dec. 1.