Around the area, this fall’s election season will be played out far differently. Qualifying was held last week and the candidates running for local office are set. 

In the city of Fayetteville, Mayor Edward Johnson is unopposed, but incumbent councilpersons Harlan Shirley and Kathaleen Brewer will both face multiple competitors. Darryl Langford and Phil Onyedumekwu will vie for Shirley’s Post 1 seat, and Kevin Pratt II, Oyin Mitchell, and Joe Clark will battle with Brewer for Post 2. 

Peachtree City’s general election Nov. 5 will decide the council members for Post 1 (Phil Prebor) and Post 2 (Mike King). Prebor is being challenged by Oobi Childs and Morgan Hallman, and King will face Darryl Csicsila and Steven Newton. Chad Kidwell initially qualified but has withdrawn from the race.

For the town of Tyrone, Mayor Eric Dial will face no opposition. Post 2 will be a three-person race between Billy Campbell, Melissa Hill, and Michael Edwards. For Post 1, incumbent Linda Howard will face a challenge from former county commissioner David Barlow. 

In Senoia, only the two incumbent city councilmen, Maurice Grover and Darry Reader, qualified for the fall election.

Write-in candidates have until this Friday to qualify for the election. 

Voter registration for the election will close at 5 p.m. Oct 7. Polls will be open on Election Day, November 5, from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. and on the day of the run-off election, if required. Advanced In Person (Early) Voting is Oct, 17 – Nov, 1, at the Fayette County Administrative Complex, Peachtree City Library, and Tyrone Town Hall. A runoff election, if required is Dec 3.

If you have more questions about the upcoming election, visit