Fayette County News

Fayette County


Candidates qualify for May 22 primary

The field of candidates for the May 22 primary is finalized, and it is filled with a mix of familiar names and fresh faces.

The District 3 seat on the County Board of Commercials currently held by Steve Brown, who is not running for re-election, will see three challengers battling for the Republican nomination.

Former Peachtree City Mayor Don Haddix and former Peachtree City Councilman Eric Imker have thrown their hats into the ring, along with retired U.S. Army Colonel Edward “Edge” Gibbons.

There are no Democratic candidates for the seat.

The Board of Education District 2 seat currently held by Diane Basham, who is not running for re-election, will see three candidates in total.

Former Whitewater and Sandy Creek High Principal Roy Rabold will face local Realtor Traci Fuller on the Republican ticket, and Sara Van Etten will run unopposed for the Democratic nomination for the seat.

Four seats will not see opposition in the primary or November election.

Charles Rousseau will retain his District 4 seat on the County Board of Commissioners, Leonard Presberg keeps his District 4 seat on the Board of Education, State Court Judge Jason B. Thompson will be unopposed in his reelection bid, and Travis Hardy will be unopposed for Soil and Water District Supervisor.

There will be three weeks of early voting from April 30-May 18 leading up to the May 22 primary. Should runoffs be needed, that would be July 24.

The general election will be November 6.

By Christopher Dunn

Managing Editor Christopher Dunn has been with the Fayette County News since 2011, in addition to running Fayette Victory magazine. He is a graduate of Fayette County schools, as well as a graduate of Georgia State University with a degree in journalism. Follow him on twitter @fayettesports.