12U Fayette All-Stars win USSSA World Series

The USSSA World Series champion team is made up of Brennen Drew, Brandon Shealy, Andrew Gable, Hayden Derbyshire, Landon Moran, Levi Trask, Cole Smith, Chris Jones, Hayden Mullins, Christian Mattingly, Dylan Williams, Isaiah Reynolds, Persia Sanders, Luke Lezaj, and Ethan Riesberg.

The 12U State Champion Fayette County All-Stars won the World Series in Gulfport, MS on June 30.

On June 17, the team from Fayetteville won the Georgia All-Star State Championship by beating the Pike County All-Stars, which earned them a birth in the World Series in Gulfport, MS.

Luke Lezaj pitched five shutout innings against previously top-ranked Monticello, AR to advance to the World Series Championship game.

In the finals, it was an all Georgia Championship game as the Fayette County All-Stars faced off against the Newton County All-Stars from Covington. Persia Sanders, the only female in the entire tournament, pitched a complete game against Newton County, GA to take the title 13-2. She was backed offensively by Dylan Williams’s 6 RBIs, including a 3-run home run in the first inning.

Playing under coaches Jamey Trask and Tom Lezaj, the squad, which won all six games they played in the tournament, is the first 12U team from the Fayette County Baseball Association to win an All-Star State Championship and the first team ever from Fayette County to win the National All-Star World Series. They finished the postseason with a record of 16-1.




Fayette Newspapers  - 210 Jeff Davis Place, P.O. Box 96 Fayetteville, GA 30214 - (770) 461-6317 • To access legal notices visit http://www.georgiapublicnotice.com/.